Table of Contents

Expedition 312 Scientists and Scientific Participants
(updated 21 October 2005)

Co-Chief Scientist
Jeffrey C. Alt
Department of Geological Sciences
University of Michigan
1000 North University
Ann Arbor MI 48109-1005
USA
jalt@umich.edu
Work: (734) 764-8380
Fax: (734) 763-4690

Co-Chief Scientist
Sumio Miyashita
Department of Geology
Niigata University
8050 Ikarashi
Niigata 950-2181
Japan
miyashit@geo.sc.niigata-u.ac.jp
Work: (81) 25-262-6193
Fax: (81) 25-262-6194

Staff Scientist/Expedition Project Manager
Neil R. Banerjee
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845-9547
USA
banerjee@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 845-0506
Fax: (979) 845-0876

Logging Staff Scientist
Marc Reichow
Department of Geology
University of Leicester
University Road
Leicester LE1 7RH
United Kingdom
mkr6@le.ac.uk
Work: (44) 116 252 3638
Fax: (44) 116 252 3918

Inorganic Geochemist
Stephanie Ingle
Department of Oceanography/SOEST
University of Hawaii at Manoa
1680 East-West Rd., Post 606
Honolulu HI 96822
USA
ingle@hawaii.edu
Work: (808) 956-5960
Fax: (808) 956-5512

Inorganic Geochemist
Natsuki Neo
Department of Geology
Niigata University
Faculty of Science
2-8050 Ikarashi
Niigata 950-2181
Japan
f05j007a@mail.cc.niigata-u.ac.jp
Work: (81) 25-262-6192
Fax: (81) 25-262-6194

Inorganic Geochemist
Nobuo Hirano
Graduate School of Environmental Studies
Tohoku University
6-6-20 Aza-Aoba, Aramaki
Aoba-ku, Sendai 980-8579
Japan
nhirano@mail.kankyo.tohoku.ac.jp
Work: (81) 22-795-6336
Fax: (81) 22-795-6336

Igneous Petrologist
Rosalind Coggon
School of Ocean and Earth Science
University of Southampton
Southampton Oceanography Centre
European Way
Southampton, Hants S014 3ZH
United Kingdom
rmc01@soc.soton.ac.uk
Work: (44) 2380 596133
Fax: (44) 2380 593052

Igneous Petrologist
David M. Christie
College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences
Oregon State University
104 Ocean Admin Building
Corvallis OR 97331-5503
USA
dchristie@coas.oregonstate.edu
Work: (541) 737-5205
Fax: (541) 737-2064

Igneous Petrologist
Juergen Koepke
Institut für Mineralogie
Universität Hannover
Callinstrasse 3
Hannover 30167
Germany
koepke@mineralogie.uni-hannover.de
Work: (49) 511 762 4084
Fax: (49) 511 762 3045

Igneous Petrologist
John Maclennan
School of Geosciences
University of Edinburgh
West Mains Rd.
Edinburgh EH9 3JW
United Kingdom
john.maclennan@ed.ac.uk
Work: (44) 131-650-4838
Fax: (44) 131-668-3184

Igneous Petrologist
Sung-Hyun Park
School of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Seoul National University
Bldg. 25-1, Room 318
Sillim-dong, Gwanak-gu
Seoul 151-747
Korea
shpark21@snu.ac.kr
Work: (82) 2 885 6756
Fax: (82) 2 888 6733

Igneous Petrologist
Birgit Scheibner
Institut für Geochemie
Universität Göttingen
Goldschmidtstrasse 1
Gottingen 37077
Germany
bscheib@gwdg.de
Work: (49) 551-395756

Igneous Petrologist
Toru Yamasaki
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Hokkaido University
Graduate School of Science
N 10, W 8
Sapporo, Hokkaido 060-0810
Japan
toru@ep.sci.hokudai.ac.jp
Work: (81) 11 706 4655
Fax: (81) 11 746 0394

Igneous Petrologist
Shusaku Yamazaki
Department of Geology
Niigata University
Faculty of Science
2-8050 Ikarashi
Niigata 950-2181
Japan
shu-saku@mvd.biglobe.ne.jp
Work: (81) 25-262-6263

Metamorphic Petrologist
Christine Laverne
Laboratoire de Pétrologie Magmatique, Case 441
Université Paul Cézanne Aix-Marseille III
Faculté des Sciences et Techniques
Avenue Escadrille Normandie-Niemen
13397 Marseille Cedex 20
France
christine.laverne@univ.u-3mrs.fr
Work: (33) 4-91-28-85-18
Fax: (33) 4-91-98-70-32

Metamorphic Petrologist
Sally Morgan
School of Earth Sciences
University of Leeds
Leeds, West Yorkshire LS2 9JT
United Kingdom
sally@earth.leeds.ac.uk
Work: (44) 113 274 6490
Fax: (44) 113 343 5259

Metamorphic Petrologist
Damon A.H. Teagle
School of Ocean and Earth Science
University of Southampton
National Oceanography Centre
Waterfront Campus, European Way
Southampton, England SO14-3ZH
United Kingdom
dat@noc.soton.ac.uk
Work: (44) 23-8059-2723
Fax: (44) 23-8059-3052

Paleomagnetist
Julie Carlut
Laboratoire de Geologie
École Normale Supérieure
24 rue Lhomond
Paris 75231
France
jcarlut@geologie.ens.fr
Work: (33) 1-44-32-22-75
Fax: (33) 1-44-32-20-00

Paleomagnetist
Douglas S. Wilson
Department of Geological Sciences
University of California, Santa Barbara
1006 Webb Hall
Santa Barbara CA 93016-9630
USA
dwilson@geol.ucsb.edu
Work: (805) 893-8033
Fax: (805) 893-2314

Physical Properties Specialist
Stephen A. Swift
Department of Geology and Geophysics
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
MS #24
Woods Hole MA 02543
USA
sswift@whoi.edu
Work: (508) 289-2626
Fax: (508) 457-2150

Physical Properties Specialist
Anahita A. Tikku
Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
2C01 Jonsson-Rowland Science Center
110 8th Street
Troy NY 12180-3590
USA
tikkua@rpi.edu
Work: (518) 276-3726
Fax: (518) 276-2012

Structural Geologist
Ryo Anma
Graduate School of Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Tsukuba
Ten-no dai 1-1-1
Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-8572
Japan
anma@arsia.geo.tsukuba.ac.jp
Work: (81) 29-853-4012
Fax: (81) 29-853-4012

Structural Geologist
Laura Galli
Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra
UniversitÓ degli Studi di Milano
Via Mangiagalli 34
Milano 20133
Italy
lauragalli1@aliceposta.it
Work: (39) 02 5031 5524
Fax: (39) 02 5031 5494

Structural Geologist
Nicholas W. Hayman
Division of Earth & Ocean Sciences
Duke University
Box 90227, 103 Old Chemistry Bldg.
Durham, NC 27708
USA
Japan
hayman@duke.edu
Work: (919) 681-8165
Fax: (919) 684-5833

Structural Geologist
Eugenio A. Veloso Espinosa
Graduate School of Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Tsukuba
Tennodai 1-1-1
Tsukuba Science City, Ibaraki 305-8572
Japan
eveloso@arsia.geo.tsukuba.ac.jp
Work:
Fax: (81) 29-853-6888

Geophysical Core Scanner Specialist
Masako Tominaga
Department of Oceanography
Texas A&M University
3F Oceanography Bldg.
3146 TAMU
College Station TX 77843-3146
USA
masako@ocean.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 845-7211
Fax: (979) 845-6331

Schlumberger Engineer
Javier Espinosa
Schlumberger Offshore Services
369 Tristar Drive
Webster, TX 77598
USA
jespinosa@webster.oilfield.slb.com
Work: (281) 480-2000

Operations Superintendent
Ronald M. Grout
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77840
USA
grout@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 845-2144
Fax: (979) 845-0876

Laboratory Officer
Burnette W. Hamlin
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845-9547
USA
hamlin@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 845-2496
Fax: (979) 845-0876

Assistant Laboratory Officer
Lisa K. Crowder
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
crowder@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 845-7716
Fax: (979) 845-2308

Assistant Laboratory Officer
Chieh Peng
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845-9547
USA
peng@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 845-0879
Fax: (979) 845-0876

Marine Curatorial Specialist
Paula Weiss
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
pweiss@qwest.net
Work: (979) 845-3602
Fax: (979) 845-0876

Imaging Specialist
Leah Shannon Housley
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
housley@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 862-7757
Fax: (979) 458-1617

Marine Laboratory Specialist: Chemistry
Timothy Bronk
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
bronk@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 845-0879
Fax: (979) 845-0876

Research Specialist: Chemistry
Robert M. Wheatley
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
wheatley@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 458-1067
Fax: (979) 845-0876

Marine Lab Specialist: Core
Toru Fujiki
Marine Works Japan Ltd.
Asahi Building 3F
2-16-32 Kamariya-higashi
Kanazawa-Ku, Yokohama 236-0042
Japan
fujiki@mwj.co.jp
Work: (81) 45-787-0633
Fax: (81) 45-787-0630

Marine Laboratory Specialist: Core
Alexander Roth
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
alroth@ucdavis.edu
Work: (979) 845-3602

Marine Laboratory Specialist: Downhole Tools/Thin Sections
Ted Gustafson
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
gustafson@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 845-3602
Fax: (979) 845-0876

Research Specialist: Paleomagnetism
Trevor J. Cobine
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
cobine@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 458-1067
Fax: (979) 845-2308

Marine Laboratory Specialist: Physical Properties
Klayton Curtis
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA

Marine Laboratory Specialist: Underway Geophysics
Bradley Weymer
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
Work: (979) 845-3602
Fax: (979) 845-0876

Marine Laboratory Specialist: X-Ray
Eric Jackson
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
geocrust@yahoo.com
Work: (979) 845-3602
Fax: (979) 845-0876

Yeoperson
Virginia Ann Lowe
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
lowe@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (970) 593-1730

Marine Instrumentation Specialist
Jan Jurie Kotze
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
kotzejj@megaweb.co.za
Work: (979) 845-3602
Fax: (979) 845-0876

Marine Instrumentation Specialist
Pieter Pretorius
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845-9547
USA
pretorius@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 845-3602
Fax: (979) 845-0876

Marine Computer Specialist
Michael J. Hodge
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845-9547
USA
hodge@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 862-4845
Fax: (979) 458-1617

Marine Computer Specialist
Michael Petersen
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845-9547
USA
petersen@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 862-1789
Fax: (979) 458-1617

Programmer
Dwight Hornbacher
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station TX 77845
USA
hornbacher@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 845-9323
Fax: (979) 845-2308

Headquarters Representative
Douglas A. Johnson
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A&M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station, TX 77845
USA
johnson_doug@iodp.tamu.edu
Work: (979) 458-4337
Fax: (979) 845-1026

Table of Contents