Skip to main content

Dr. Denise K. Kulhanek

staff photo
Now at
Institut für Geowissenschaften
Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel
Ludewig-Meyn-Straße 14
24118 Kiel
Tel: (49) 0431-880-2851

IODP Expeditions & Activities

Previous Sailing

  • Expedition 344S (2012): Baffin Bay Scientific Coring Programme, shipboard paleontologist
  • IODP Expedition 313 (2009): New Jersey Shallow Shelf, shore-based paleontologist
  • NBP0602A SHALDRIL II (2006): Northwestern Weddell Sea, staff scientist/shipboard paleontologist
  • IODP Expedition 306 (2005): North Atlantic Climate 2, shipboard paleontologist


  • General research interests: I use microfossils (especially calcareous nannofossils), sediments, and geochemical proxies to address paleoceanographic/paleoclimatic and biostratigraphic questions covering a wide span of geologic time.
  • Currently my main interest is Paleogene hyperthermals (including the Paleocene/Eocene Thermal Maximum and early Eocene) as an analogue for future warming.
  • Past projects include looking at changing surface circulation as the central Atlantic opened during the mid-Cretaceous, as well as recovery of the calcareous nannoplankton following the K/Pg boundary mass extinction.
  • Other recent projects include using nannofossil, sedimentological and geochemical data to assess millennial-scale climate variability in the North Atlantic in the late Pleistocene, as well as completing calcareous nannofossil biostratigraphy for Pleistocene and Miocene sediments on the New Jersey shallow shelf as part of a larger project to assess changes in eustatic sea level during those time periods.
  • Curriculum Vitae

Professional Affiliations

  • American Association of Petroleum Geologists (since 1999)
  • American Geophysical Union (since 2008)
  • Association for Women Geoscientists (since 2007)
  • Geological Society of America (since 2009)
  • Geoscience Society of New Zealand (since 2011)
  • International Nannoplankton Association (since 1999)
  • North American Micropaleontology Section, SEPM (2002–2009)