Skip to main content

MRC Institutions and Supervisors

Introduction

MRC collections are hosted by more than a dozen major institutions around the world. There are 9 identical sets of prepared material for each of the four fossil groups. These are held either in full collections, which have all four fossil groups, or satellite collections, which typically hold only material for one group.

MRC hosts

Full Micropaleontological Reference Centers

U.S. National Museum

Dr. Brian T. Huber
Department of Paleobiology
NHB-121
Smithsonian Institution
Washington, D.C. 20560
USA
Phone: 202-786-2658
Fax: 202-786-2832
huberb@si.edu

Europe

Dr. Michael Knappertsbusch
Geology Department
Natural History Museum
Augustinergasse 2
CH-4001 Basel
Switzerland
Phone: 41-61-266-5564
Fax: 41-61-266-5546
michael.knappertsbusch@unibas.ch

U.S. Gulf Coast

Dr. John Firth
Integrated Ocean Drilling Program
Texas A & M University
1000 Discovery Drive
College Station, TX 77845-9547
USA
Phone: 979-845-0507
Fax: 979-845-0876
firth@iodp.tamu.edu

Japan

Dr. Megumi Saito-Kato
Micropaleontological Reference Center
National Museum of Nature and Science
Amakubo-4-1-1, Tsukuba-shi,
Ibaraki 305-0005,
Japan
Phone: 81-29-853-8901
Fax: 81-29-853-8998
memekato@kahaku.go.jp

New Zealand

Randall McDonnell
GNS Science
1 Fairway Drive
Lower Hutt
New Zealand
Fax: 64-4-570-4758
r.mcdonnell@gns.cri.nz

Satellite Micropaleontological Reference Centers

USA

Collection type: radiolaria
Dr. Annika Sanfilippo
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
University of California, San Diego
GRD-Vaughan Hall 106
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA 92093-0244
USA
Phone: 619-534-2049
Fax: 619-534-3310
annika@ucsd.edu
Collection type: diatoms
(Collection initiated 25 May 1995)
Dr. Jean F. DeMouthe
California Academy of Sciences
55 Music Concourse Drive
Golden Gate Park
San Francisco, CA 94118-4599
USA
Phone: 415-379‑5258
jdemouthe@calacademy.org
Collection types: calcareous nannofossils, diatoms
(Collection initiated 10 April 1998)
Dr. Sherwood W. Wise, Jr.
EOAS
Department of Geological Sciences
Florida State University
1017 Academic Way
Tallahassee, FL 32306-4100
USA
Phone: 850-644-6265
Fax: 850-644-4214
swise@mailer.fsu.edu

Brazil

Collection type: foraminifera
(Collection initiated 10 December 1996)
Mr. Aristoteles de Moraes Rios-Netto
Institute of Geosciences
Federal University of Rio de Janeiro
Av. Brigadero Trompowski, s/n bl. G
Cidade Universitaria (Ilha do Fundeo)
CEP 21.949 900, Rio de Janeiro
Brazil
Phone: 021-598-3259
Fax: 021-598-3294
rios.netto@geologia.ufrj.br

Japan

Collection type: radiolaria
Dr. Yoshiaki Aita
Department of Geology
Faculty of Agriculture
Utsunomiya University
350 Mine-machi, Utsunomiya 321
Japan
Phone: 81-28-649-5427
Fax: 81-286-649-5428
aida@cc.utsunomiya-u.ac.jp

Germany

Collection type: radiolaria
(Collection initiated 1998)
Dr. David Lazarus (lead curator)
Museum für Naturkunde
Invalidenstrasse 43
10115 Berlin
Germany
Phone: 49-30-2093-8579
Dept secretary: 49-30-2093-8862
Fax: 49-30-2093-8868
david.lazarus@mfn-berlin.de
Collection types: foraminifera, radiolaria
(Collection initiated 1 August 1996)
Walter Hale and Dr. Barbara Donner
IODP Bremen Core Repository (BCR)
Universität Bremen
Marum Building, Room 0230
Leobener Str.
28359 Bremen
Germany
whale@uni-bremen.de
donner@uni-bremen.de

Italy

Collection type:
calcareous nannofossils
(Collection initiated 10 April 1998)
Dr. Giuliana Villa
Universitá degli Studi di Parma
V.le delle Sciencze, 78
43100 Parma
Italy
Phone: 39-521-905370
Fax: 39-521-905305
giuliana.villa@unipr.it

U.K.

Collection type:
calcareous nannofossils
Dr. Giles Miller
Department of Palaeontology
The Natural History Museum
Cromwell Road
London SW7 5BD
U.K.
Phone: 44-207-942-5415
Fax: 44-207-942-5546
g.miller@nhm.ac.uk

Russia

Collection types: diatoms, foraminifera
Dr. Andrey Yu. Gladenkov
Geological Institute
Russian Academy of Sciences
Pyzhevskii per., 7
Moscow 119017
Russia
Phone: (7-495) 951-2723
Fax: (7-495) 953-5590
agladenkov@ilran.ru